ANCA Tool of the Year 2023: Celebrating Innovation and Excellence in Cutting Tool Manufacturing

ANCATooloftheYear2023, touted as the Oscars of the cutting tool industry, is calling all the machinists of high precision cutting tools to get a chance to achieve global brand recognition as well as cash and other prizes. Last year’s awards achieved a digital audience reach of 8.1 million readers via the media, 37 global entries seen by over 202,480 fans, and over 200,000​ engagements on social media.

Participants can enter one or both categories—#MadeonANCA and Most Innovative Tool Design. The winner of #MadeonANCA receives a trip to ANCA's headquarters in Melbourne, Australia; AUD$10,000 worth of ANCA parts, accessories, or software; and VIP access to exclusive opportunities with ANCA experts. The winner of Most Innovative Tool Design receives AUD$10,000 worth of ANCA parts, accessories, or software. Submissions are open from May 15 - August 8. Winners will be announced at EMO 2023. Participants can enter now at

ANCA Tool of the Year 2023: The competition is based on the passion and craft of tool making and celebrates the highly skilled tool grinding community. Customers can submit their favorite tool, with the winners to be judged and announced live at EMO 2023. There are two competition categories to recognize both the functionality and creativity of cutting tool manufacturers.

#MadeonANCA: The main prize goes to the winner of this category, where entrants will be judged on the form and performance of their cutting tool. The winner of #MadeonANCA receives a trip to ANCA’s headquarters in Melbourne, Australia, and AUD$10,000 worth of parts, accessories, or software. This amazing prize comes with access as an ANCA VIP to exclusive opportunities with ANCA experts.

Most Innovative Tool Design: This category is for virtual tools. Entrants are encouraged to be creative and use the ANCA tool design software to push ideas to their limits. The winner of the most innovative virtual tool will receive AUD$10,000 worth of parts, accessories, or software.

To enter the competition, participants are required to read the terms and conditions at, upload their tool image to their social media channel and tag #ANCATooloftheYear2023, or send the image to [email protected]. They are also required to complete the form at and keep an eye on ANCA’s social media channels for important dates relating to voting and finalists.

The judging panel includes Pat Boland, Co-Founder and Managing Director, ANCA; Santosh Plakkat, Product Manager, ANCA; Darren Fox, Product Manager, ANCA; and Rauf Öztürk, Director, Business Development, Turcar. The 2023 partners and sponsors of the awards include Zoller, GDS, TYROLIT, and PIRANHA.

At EMO, the top five finalists’ tools will be judged on the following criteria:

      Best surface finish in Ra (roughness average) value on the flute or gash surface

      The tool that is closest to the nominal tolerance as stated on the drawing in terms of diameter and profile (i.e., if the tolerance on diameter is +/- 0.010mm and the tool is measured to 0.005 then this will rank favorably)

      Tool that has been ground to the tightest tolerance as per the drawing (i.e., the tool with the lowest tolerance will rank favorably)

      Level of complexity (i.e., in terms of the number of steps, profiles will rank favorably)

 2022 winner Edwin Juarez, CEO, SJ Tools, said, “In this very competitive world with the technology that exists in cutting tools, it’s a great achievement for me as well as the whole team that works at SJ Tools. After winning the Tool of the Year award and using it in my marketing materials, my company has experienced an increase in custom specials as a result.”

Against this backdrop, Patrick Boland, Co-Founder, ANCA, commented, “Every year I’m impressed by the skill and creativity of our customers and how they apply ANCA technology to design and manufacture market-leading cutting tools. It’s important to recognize their amazing results, and I look forward to seeing what our customers come up with this year.”